We are all trained in the Allergen Advice issued in December 2014.

Fourteen major allergens were identified by the food standards agency. They are as follows:

  1. Cereals containing gluten, namely: wheat (such as spelt and khorasan wheat), rye, barley, oats
  2. Crustaceans for example prawns, crabs, lobster, crayfish
  3. Eggs
  4. Fish
  5. Peanuts
  6. Soybeans
  7. Milk (including lactose)
  8. Nuts; namely almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashews, pecan nuts, Brazil nuts, pistachio nuts, macadamia (or Queensland) nuts
  9. Celery (including celeriac)
  10. Mustard
  11. Sesame
  12. Sulphur dioxide/sulphites, where added and at a level above 10mg/kg or 10mg/L in the finished product. This can be used as a preservative in dried fruit
  13. Lupin, which includes lupin seeds and flour and can be found in types of bread, pastries and pasta
  14. Molluscs like, mussels, whelks, oysters, snails and squid

There is a necessity for parents to make themselves aware of any allergen that may affect their child and inform school. Pupils must carry medication where appropriate.

Detailed guidance is in the FSA booklet below.


Allergen information for loose food